A Breakdown of Astrology Houses

It is the backbone of Vedic astrology to thoroughly understand the 12 houses in astrology and their lords before further reading the kundli or chart. Following is a breakdown of astrology houses:

  • The 1st, 5th, and 9th houses are called Trikonasor trine houses. They are the most powerful and auspicious houses. They are also called Lakshmi sthanas as they rule all kinds of prosperity.
  • The 1st, 4th, 7th, and 10th houses are called Kendras or quadrants. They are also auspicious and powerful houses next to the trine houses.
  • The 3rd, 6th, 10th and the 11th houses are called Upachaya or houses of growth.
  • The 6th, 8th, and 12 houses are called Dusthanas or bad houses.
  • 1, 5, and 9 are Dharma houses.
  • 2, 6, and 10 are Artha houses.
  • 3, 7, and 11 are Kama houses.
  • 4, 8, and 12 are Moksha houses.

Gautam Trehan

Would love to hear from you! You can write/ask me anything! at [email protected] Happy Reading!