Ashtakvarga Gochar Astrology – Simply Amazing

Ashtakvarga is an interesting concept of observing the Gochar. As we have discussed earlier, Gochar is ever changing positions of the planet in the Sky which affect our daily lives. Our birth kundli has fix formations of the planet which shows the life path of the native in this birth. However, it is Gochar dasha which takes you through the destiny as represented by birth kundli. So it is important to understand how your current Gochar is running what planets are participating and what will be the results. Reading Gochar could be little complicated, Ashtakvarga is an ancient method to represent the Gochar as per your birth kundli. A planet, which is in good condition in the birth kundli and also in the Gochar kundli, gives overall good results to the native. However, if such planet is not in the good condition in the Gochar, the goodness of the planet will be affected and so the results. Gochar is a very strong phenomenon.In Ashtakvarga good results are represented with dots whereas bad results are represented with lines. In this system, we calculate the seven planets and ascendant (lagna), Rahu and Ketu is not taken into consideration.

How Ashtakvarga Works

There are set rules of auspicious and inauspicious results of each planet from its current position in the birth kundli. For example, Sun gives auspicious results in 1st, 2nd, 4th, 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th, & 11th position; so all these places will have dots in it representing auspicious results and rest i.e. 3rd, 5th, 6th & 12th positions will have line representing inauspicious results.

In astrological literature, the rules of calculating and draw Ashtakvarga has been described in Shlokas. For your convenience the auspicious and inauspicious results have been shown in the tabular form for better understanding. The Reds are inauspicious places, Whites are auspicious.

[supsystic-tables id=’3′]
[supsystic-tables id=’4′]
[supsystic-tables id=’6′]
[supsystic-tables id=’5′]
[supsystic-tables id=’7′]
[supsystic-tables id=’8′]
[supsystic-tables id=’9′]
[supsystic-tables id=’10’]

Above tables have been withdrawn assuming that each planet is in the 1st zodiac. We will replace the first zodiac with the actual zodiac planet is in the natal chart. For example if Sun is in the Virgo zodiac then first box will represent six in front of the Sun and later boxes will follow the sequence i.e. 7, 8, 9, 10 etc.

Ashtakvarga Example 1:

ashtakvarga example1

Let’s understand this by the above example kundli.

As you can see in the above chart, Sun is placed in the ‘5’, so as per Surya Ashtakvarga table, we will replace ‘1’ with the ‘5’ in front of Sun and will continue from there i.e. 5, 6, 7 onward. As you can see in the below Surya Ashtakvarga table 7, 9, 10, and 4 is inauspicious places for Sun. Same way we will proceed for other planets. Moon is in the ‘4’ so we will replace ‘1’ with ‘4’ and will continue from there i.e. 4, 5, 6….etc.

This way we will create Ashtakvarga table for all the planets using the reference tables above.

[supsystic-tables id=’11’]


Let’s understand how do we interpret this table. In a nutshell this table tells how the Gochar of Surya will show its result in different rashis. In Ashtakvarga table any rashi with 5 or more dots or auspicious number is considered good and concerning graha will show good results in those rashis. Less than 5 i.e 4 will give mixed results. Below 4 is not good, and not having any dots or auspicious no. is severely bad. In the above example table blue are mixed results, red are bad ones, and green are good ones.

So when Surya will gochar into the first bhava i.e. rashi no. 3 it will give mixed results as there are four dots and four lines in the column; when it will gochar into the 2nd bhav i.e. rashi no. 4 it will give extremely bad results as there is only one auspicious number there. In the 3rd bhav (rashi 5) results will be mixed, in the 4th bhav (rashi 6) results will be very good as there are six dots or auspicious places. In the 5th bhav (rashi 7) it will be very bad having only one auspicious place. In the sixth bhav (rashit 8) it will be good having five dots, in the 7th bhav (rashi 9) it will be mixed, 8th & 9th bhav results will be bad, whereas results of 10th, 11th, & 12th bhav will be good. Hope this is clear now. This way we will interpret other tables also.

[supsystic-tables id=’12’]


As you can see in the above Moon table there are five greens, four reds, and three blues in the table which shows mixed kind of results during Moon gochar. Some good time and some bad time!

[supsystic-tables id=’13’]


Gochar of Mars will also give mixed results to the native as there are more Reds than Blue or Green.
[supsystic-tables id=’14’]


Gochar of Mercury will have more Greens than Red or Blue so overall it will be a good period.
[supsystic-tables id=’15’]


Transit of Jupiter is very important for the native as Jupiter resides in one rashi for almost a year. Year long time is sufficient for any native to be impacted and feel the results accordingly. As you can see in the above table the transit of Jupiter seems to fare well to the native as it has no red block. So native will experience either mix or good results from the transit of Jupiter.
[supsystic-tables id=’16’]


As you can see Gochar of Shukra will give mixed results to the native.
[supsystic-tables id=’18’]


Gochar of Shani is the most crucial and longest in the kundli. Saturn spends two and half year in one rashi – quite a time folks! This much time is enough for anybody to go upside down or vice versa depending upon the placement of Saturn. As you can see in above table and kundli itself the placement of Saturn is kind of ok in this kundli but definitely not so good. Consequently, native will have mixed to bad results from the Saturn transit as there is only one green block.
[supsystic-tables id=’19’]



Gautam Trehan

Would love to hear from you! You can write/ask me anything! at [email protected] Happy Reading!