Exaltation and Debilitation of Planets

It is very important in astrology to understand the relationship among planets. Just like planetary relationship table, which describes about mutual friendship status among planets, there is another table called exaltation and debilitation table of planets.

What is Exaltation and Debilitation of Planets

Exaltation is the placement of a planet in a particular sign when it is most powerful and has maximum strength to spread positivity and prosperity in native’s life. It is just like party time for the planet in that particular sign when it feels most comfortable. Similarly, debilitation is the placement of a planet in a particular sign when it is so weak, sad, and angry that it mostly gives troubles to the native.

This reading is very important as it gives you clear idea about the native’s strong areas and weak areas. This is also helpful to determine which planet needs careful attention when particularly native is going through the vimshottari dasha of the planet. This study also helps to understand which gemstone, pooja, or any other ritual is required to maximize the strength of the weak planet or reap the maximum benefit from the strong planet.

Zodiac signs are divided among four elements.

Fire Element: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius
Earth Element: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn
Water Element: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces
Air Element: Aquarius, Libra, Gemini

For example, Sun is full of fire energy and exalted in Aries, so in Aries this fire will be well focused and productive. Sun is debilitated in Libra which is air element, when fire and air come in contact it acts like a forest fire which will destroy everything coming in the way. In such conditions, one has to take some precautionary measures. In the same way one can figure out the good and bad effects of each combination.

It is very important to determine exaltation and debilitation of planets in the chart initially before proceeding further. Planets are exalted and debilitated in particular signs as described in the table below. Technically, every planet is debilitated in the 7th sign from the sign of exaltation.

exalted-debilitated planets

Gautam Trehan

Would love to hear from you! You can write/ask me anything! at [email protected] Happy Reading!