What is Concept of Zodiacs

Concept of zodiac can be imagined as a circle of space just like a belt surrounding the Earth in which the planets travel. This belt is further divided into twelve parts each part containing thirty degrees of space called the signs of the Zodiac. Thus 12 signs each measuring 30 degrees constitute the circle of the Zodiac or 360 degrees.
It is these twelve signs through which the planets travel or transit from west to east, going through one sign after another in their order from Aries to Pisces. This whole circle is further divided into 27 sections and each section is measured as 13 degree 20 minutes which is known as nakshatra (constellation).

Each sign of the Zodiac is owned by a planet who is termed as its ‘ruler’. Sun and Moon rule one sign each whereas Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus and Saturn rule two signs each. There is controversy about Rahu and Kethu ruling some signs but the fact is that they being shadow planets do not own any signs but cast their influence according to signs in which they are placed, or lords of those signs.

Each of these zodiacs has a special image associated with them which further talks about the nature of the zodiacs. These 12 zodiacs represent the body of Kal-Purush as following:

Scorpio-Private Parts

According to astrological concept, the weak zodiacs in the chart will make the corresponding organ weak, and strong zodiacs will represent strong corresponding organ. In the natal chart, Lagna will represent the head, second house face and so on.

Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius live in the East direction; Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn live in the South direction; Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius live in the West direction; and Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces live in the North direction.

Sun and Moon rule over one zodiac each; rest of the planets rule over two zodiacs each:

Mercury-Gemini, Virgo
Jupiter-Sagittarius, Pisces
Venus-Libra, Taurus
Saturn-Capricorn, Aquarius

In the same way, each planet is exalted and debilitated in a particular zodiac. Aries, Taurus, Capricorn, Virgo, Cancer, Pisces, and Libra are the exalted sign for Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn. Seventh zodiac for each of the mentioned zodiacs is a debilitated sign for the respective planet. For more information check the exaltation and debilitation table of planets.

Gautam Trehan

Would love to hear from you! You can write/ask me anything! at [email protected] Happy Reading!